Doing good better, together.

We are a network of people in Germany that aspire to use reason and evidence to help each other to do the most good given the resources that we have.

About Us Events Become Active

What is Effective Altruism?

Effective Altruism (EA) is a philosophy and social movement that uses evidence and reason to determine the most effective ways to help others. EA is a diverse community of researchers, entrepreneurs and philanthropists spread around the globe that is working together on various causes such as global health, animal welfare and ensuring a positive longterm future to effectively reduce suffering and improve lives.

Who are we?

We are a network of people in Germany who care deeply about the world, make benefiting others a significant part of our lives, and use evidence and reason to figure out how best to do so.

Putting this into practice means acting in accordance with the core principles of effective altruism:

Commitment to Others

We take the well-being of others very seriously, and are willing to take significant personal action in order to benefit others. What this entails can vary from person to person, and it's ultimately up to individuals to figure out what significant personal action looks like for them. In each case, however, the most essential commitment of effective altruism is to actively try to make the world a better place.

Scientific Mindset

We strive to base our actions on the best available evidence and reasoning about how the world works. We recognize how difficult it is to know how to do the most good, and therefore try to avoid overconfidence, to seek out informed critiques of our own views, to be open to unusual ideas, and to take alternative points of view seriously.

Openness

We are a community united by our commitment to our principles, not to a specific cause. Our goal is to do as much good as we can, and we evaluate ways to do that without committing ourselves at the outset to any particular cause. We are open to focusing our efforts on any group of beneficiaries, and to using any reasonable methods to help them. If good arguments or evidence show that our current plans are not the best way of helping, we will change our beliefs and actions.

Integrity

Because we believe that trust, cooperation, and accurate information are essential to doing good, we strive to be honest and trustworthy. More broadly, we strive to follow those rules of good conduct that allow communities (and the people within them) to thrive. We also value the reputation of effective altruism, and recognize that our actions reflect on it.

Collaborative Spirit

We affirm a commitment to building a friendly, open, and welcoming environment in which many different approaches can flourish, and in which a wide range of perspectives can be evaluated on their merits. In order to encourage cooperation and collaboration between people with widely varying circumstances and ways of thinking, we resolve to treat people of different worldviews, values, backgrounds, and identities kindly and respectfully.

Join Our Mission

We are always looking to extend our network with motivated people that are willing to dedicate some of their resources towards doing the most good. Get in touch with us and join our mission to make the world a better place!

Become Active!

Our Activities

1-on-1 Matching

Our 1-on-1 matching connects the German effective altruism community to inspire and learn from each other.

Events

Our events (e.g., workshops, conferences) provide opportunities for networking and self-development.

Content

We bring inspiring intermediate to advanced content to the German effective altruism community.

Research

We research a more systematic approach to community building and development.

Infrastructure

We provide the technological infrastructure to make it easy to participate in the German effective altruism community.

Finances

We are offering to manage the finances for the German effective altruism community.

Current Events

>200

People reached

>10

Events organized

>98%

Recommend our events

>10

1-on-1's matched

Our Team

Photo

Max Schons

Events & Finances

An infectiologist who is great at hosting productive events and making sure that everything gets done.

Photo

Alexander Herwix

Strategy, Performance & Knowledge

A design researcher who loves to think about tricky socio-technical challenges and how to solve them.

Photo

Birte Spekker

Organization development & Management

Student of Cognitive Science with a focus on moral psychology and longtime local group leader in Osnabrück, excited to connect community builders on a national level.

Photo

Dorota Czaplejewicz

Management & IT

Aspiring optimist, trying to be nicer to people every day. When not advocating for Libre Software, personal and political freedom, busy hacking for fun and profit.

Photo

Ekaterina Ilin

Outreach & HR

An astronomer who wants to create a home for aspiring EAs who don’t have much local support.

Photo

Florian Zeidler

IT

An entrepeneur building software to help people get stuff done.

Photo

Luise Wolf

Fundraising & Partnerships

A pediatrician with a heart for aspiring effective altruists, who wants to improve networking within the community.

Photo

Manuel Allgaier

Events & Career coaching

Full-time EA Community Builder with background in charity management and consultancy, currently leading EA Berlin.

Photo

Markus K. Brechtel

Organization development & IT

An IT Entrepreneur and Devops Engineer building networks and tools to make the world a better place for everyone.

Become Active

Get in Touch

While we are out and about on different platforms, the most effective way to contact us still via email. Simply send us a concise message about your concern and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

If you are interested in joining our network, we would love to hear from you! Please include a short description of your motivation, location in Germany and experiences in relation to effective altruism. We will get back to you and try to schedule a conversation (in person or digitally) to get you involved.

Gemeinsam besser Gutes tun.

Wir sind ein Netzwerk von Menschen, die gemeinsam Herz und Verstand nutzen wollen, um möglichst viel Gutes zu tun.

Über Uns Events Werde Aktiv

Was ist Effektiver Altruismus?

Effektiver Altruismus (EA) ist eine Philosophie und soziale Bewegung, die wissenschaftliche Evidenz und Vernunft verwendet, um die effektivsten Wege zu finden, anderen zu helfen. EA ist eine vielfältige Gemeinschaft von Bürger:innen, Forscher:innen, Unternehmer:innen, Aktivist:innen und Philanthrop:innen auf der ganzen Welt, die die Arbeit an den dringensten globalen Herausforderungen – wie z.B. globale Armut und Gesundheit, Tierwohl und der Frage, wie man die langfristige Zukunft möglichst positiv gestalten kann – vorantreiben und unterstützen, um die Welt effektiv zu verbessern.

Wer sind Wir?

Wir sind ein Netzwerk von Menschen in Deutschland, die sich intensiv für die Welt einsetzen und den Nutzen für andere zu einem wichtigen Teil unseres Lebens machen. Wir nutzen wissenschaftliche Evidenz und Vernunft, um herauszufinden, wie dies am besten funktioniert.

Wir handeln nach den Grundprinzipien des Effektiven Altruismus, um dies in die Praxis umzusetzen:

Engagement für Andere

Wir nehmen das Wohlergehen anderer sehr ernst und sind bereit, erhebliche persönliche Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um anderen zu helfen. Was dies bedeutet, kann von Person zu Person variieren, und es liegt letztendlich an jedem Einzelnen, herauszufinden, wie bedeutsame persönliche Handlungen für sie aussehen. In jedem Fall ist jedoch das wichtigste Ziel des Effektiven Altruismus, aktiv zu versuchen, die Welt zu einem besseren Ort zu machen.

Wissenschaftliche Denkweise

Wir sind bestrebt, unser Handeln auf die besten verfügbaren Erkenntnisse und Überlegungen darüber zu stützen, wie die Welt funktioniert. Wir wissen, wie schwierig es ist, das Beste zu tun, und versuchen deshalb, Überheblichkeit zu vermeiden, fundierte Kritik an unseren eigenen Ansichten zu suchen, offen für ungewöhnliche Ideen zu sein und alternative Standpunkte ernst zu nehmen.

Offenheit

Wir sind eine Gemeinschaft, die durch unser Engagement für unsere Prinzipien vereint ist. Unser Ziel ist es, so viel Gutes wie möglich zu tun, und wir prüfen, wie wir das erreichen können, ohne uns von Anfang an für eine bestimmte Sache zu engagieren. Wir sind bereit, unsere Bemühungen auf jede Gruppe von Begünstigten zu konzentrieren und alle angemessenen Methoden zu nutzen, um ihnen zu helfen. Wenn gute Argumente oder Beweise zeigen, dass unsere aktuellen Pläne nicht die beste Art zu helfen sind, werden wir unsere Überzeugungen und Handlungen ändern.

Integrität

Weil wir glauben, dass Vertrauen, Zusammenarbeit und genaue Informationen unerlässlich sind, um Gutes zu tun, bemühen wir uns, ehrlich und vertrauenswürdig zu sein. Generell streben wir danach, Verhaltensregeln einzuhalten, die es den Gemeinschaften (und den Menschen in ihnen) ermöglichen, zu gedeihen. Wir schätzen auch den Ruf des Effektiven Altruismus und erkennen an, dass unser Handeln diesen beeinflusst.

Gemeinschaftsgeist

Wir bekennen uns zu einem freundlichen, offenen und einladenden Umfeld, in dem viele verschiedene Ansätze gedeihen können und in dem eine Vielzahl von Perspektiven nach ihrem Nutzen bewertet werden können. Um die Kooperation und Kollaboration zwischen Menschen mit sehr unterschiedlichen Umständen und Denkweisen zu fördern, verschreiben wir uns dem respektvollen und wertschätzenden Umgang mit unterschiedlichen Weltanschauungen, Werten, Hintergründen und Identitäten.

Werde aktiv

Wir sind stets bestrebt, unser Netzwerk mit motivierten Mitgliedern zu erweitern, die bereit sind, einen Teil ihrer Ressourcen einzusetzen, um möglichst viel Gutes zu tun. Nimm Kontakt mit uns auf und werde Teil unserer Mission, die Welt zu einem besseren Ort zu machen!

Werde Aktiv!

Unsere Aktivitäten

1-on-1 Matching

Unser 1-on-1-Matching verbindet die deutsche EA Community, um zu inspirieren und voneinander zu lernen.

Events

Unsere Events (z.B. Workshops, Konferenzen) eröffnen Möglichkeiten für die Selbstentwicklung und das Netzwerken.

Inhalte

Wir hosten und generieren neue wertvolle Inhalte für die deutsche EA Community.

Forschung

Wir forschen an einem systematischeren Ansatz zur Weiterentwicklung der EA Community.

Infrastruktur

Wir stellen die technologische Infrastruktur bereit, um das Mitwirken in der deutschen EA Community möglichst einfach zu gestalten.

Finanzen

Wir bieten an, die Finanzen für die EA Community in Deutschland zu verwalten.

Aktuelle Events

Workshop
Responsible Biorisk Reduction

Develop, communicate and establish a responsible, cautious and supportive culture for EAs around contributing to the delicate area of GCBR reduction.

  • 01.05.2020 – 03.05.2020
  • Oxford
  • fortgeschritten, erfahren
  • 80–150€
>200

Menschen erreicht

>10

Events organisiert

>98%

Empfehlen unsere Events

>10

1-on-1's vermittelt

Unser Team

Photo

Max Schons

Events & Finanzen

Ein Infektiologe, der großartig darin ist, produktive Veranstaltungen durchzuführen und dafür zu sorgen, dass auch alles erledigt wird, was man sich vorgenommen hat.

Photo

Alexander Herwix

Strategie, Performance & Wissen

Ein Designforscher, der gerne über knifflige sozio-technische Herausforderungen nachdenkt und sie löst.

Photo

Florian Zeidler

IT

Ein Entrepreneur der Software entwickelt, um Menschen zu helfen Ihre Ziele zu erreichen.

Photo

Manuel Allgaier

Events & Karrierecoaching

Vollzeit EA Community Builder mit Hintergrund in Charity Management und Beratung, derzeit Leiter von EA Berlin.

Photo

Birte Spekker

Organisationentwicklung & Management

Kognitionswissenschaftstudentin mit Schwerpunkt Moralpsychologie. Außerdem Lokalgruppenleiterin in Osnabrück und begeistert davon, Lokalgruppen auf nationaler Ebene zu vernetzen.

Photo

Dorota Czaplejewicz

Management & IT

Aufstrebende Optimistin, die jeden Tag versucht, netter zu Menschen zu sein.

Photo

Ekaterina Ilin

Outreach & HR

Ein Astronomin, die ein Zuhause für angehende EAs schaffen will, die nicht viel lokale Unterstützung haben.

Photo

Luise Wolf

Fundraising & Partnerschaften

Eine Kinderärztin mit einem Herz für angehende effektive Altruisten, die die Vernetzung innerhalb der EA Community verbessern möchte.

Photo

Markus K. Brechtel

Organisationsentwicklung & IT

Ein IT-Unternehmer und Devops Engineer der Netzwerke und Tools entwickelt, um die Welt zu einem besseren Ort für alle zu machen.

Aktuelle Nachrichten

Werde Aktiv

Kontaktiere Uns

Während wir auf verschiedenen Plattformen unterwegs sind, ist es immer noch der effektivste Weg, uns per E-Mail zu kontaktieren. Senden Sie uns einfach eine kurze Nachricht über Ihr Anliegen und wir werden uns so schnell wie möglich bei Ihnen melden.

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, unserem Netzwerk beizutreten, würden wir uns freuen, von Ihnen zu hören! Bitte geben Sie eine kurze Beschreibung Ihrer Motivation, Ihres Standortes in Deutschland und Ihrer Erfahrungen in Bezug auf den Effektiven Altruismus an. Wir werden uns dann zeitnah mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen.